Council of management

Professor Nicholas Crafts CBE FBA – Chair of Council

Professor of Economic History (0.3FTE) at the University of Sussex.  He is also Emeritus Professor of Economic History, University of Warwick where he was Director of CAGE, the ESRC Research Centre on Competitive Advantage in the Global Economy from 2010 to 2019.

Sir Paul Tucker – President

Chair of the Systematic Risk Council and a Research Fellow of the Mossavar-Rahmani Centre for Business and Government at the Harvard Kennedy. He spent more than three decades in central banking, occupying senior positions in the international policymaking world. Appointed 22nd November 2018

Jagjit S. Chadha

Professor Jagjit S. Chadha – Director

Professor of Economics at the University of Kent, and also part-time Professor of Economics at Cambridge. Appointed May 2016

Council Members

Tera Allas CBE

Tera is Director of Research and Economics at McKinsey & Company, Trustee of Royal Economic Society and also Trustee of the Productivity Leadership Group (Be the Business). She was previously Director General at Department for Business, Innovation and Skills and Deputy Head of Government Economic Service.

Alex Baker

Alex is Managing Director of Fingleton, a consultancy that provides strategic advice on competition and regulation.

Jenny Bates

Jenny has been a member of the Government Economics Service (GES) since 2001 and is co-leading a new initiative to improve gender diversity in the economics profession in government. 

Professor Phillip Brown

Phillip Brown is a Distinguished Research Professor in the School of Social Sciences, Cardiff University. He Chaired an Independent Review for the Welsh Government examining the impact of digital innovation for the economy and the future of work. Phil is currently leading an international research programme on the same themes, and has published many books on education, economy and society.

Neil Gaskell

Neil Gaskell

Neil Gaskell is chairman of the Martin Currie Global Portfolio Trust. He was previously chairman of Aberdeen Japan Investment Trust, a non-executive director of Wellstream Group Plc, Integra Group and chairman of Hydrodec Group. Neil is also an emeritus  governor of the London School of Economics. Before this, he worked for 35 years with Shell and retired as group treasurer of the Royal Dutch Shell Group and director of Shell International.

Sir David Greenaway

Emeritus Vic-Chancellor and Professor of International Economics, University of Nottingham. Public Service includes Chair of Armed Forces Pay Review Body, and various Government Advisory roles in the UK and elsewhere. Widely published in international trade, cross border investment, economic development. 

Stephen King

Stephen King

Stephen King is a senior economic adviser at HSBC

Keith Mackrell

Keith Mackrell

Emeritus Governor and Honorary Fellow of the LSE

Neville Manuel

Neville Manuel

Neville led the development and growth of a range of internet and media businesses during his corporate career at BT where he was the Group General Manager of Strategy and Portfolio. He is now a non executive director with an NHS Trust and an independent film maker.

Professor Jill Rubery

Jill Rubery has worked at Manchester since 1989, first at the  Manchester School of Management at UMIST and since 2004 in Alliance Manchester Business School. In 2006 she was elected a fellow of the British Academy and an emeritus fellow of Murray Edwards College, University of Cambridge

Romesh Vaitilingam 

Romesh Vaitilingam is a writer and media consultant, and a member of the editorial board of Vox. He is the author of numerous articles and several successful books in economics, finance, business and public policy. In 2003, he was awarded an MBE for services to economic and social science.